top of page

Vessel Mini Lesson - Pit Firing

I created a vase shaped clay piece for this project, it has a very small circular base and grows wider toward the top to create a distinguished shape. I wanted the piece to look like this so that I could apply different techniques to the inside and outside of the vessel. Preparing it for the pit fire, I wrapped the outside in copper wiring, sprayed it with chemicals, sprinkled salt in and on it, and tucked twigs, leaves, and gum wrappers in it. I am drawn to the possibilty of this kind of art. I am not a huge fan of clay in general, however I enjoy the way that what you apply to the piece pre-firing impacts the end result but it still remains a mystery as to how exactly the work will turn out.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page